Mexican Academy of Sciences

Scientific Community of the Caribbean


Since in 2002, the Mexican Academy of Science has been a member of the Scientific Community of the Caribbean (CCC). The CCC was founded in November 2000 and its members are scientific academies and organizations in the Caribbean region, including the Antilles Islands, Central America and Panama and a final group including Colombia, Mexico and Venezuela. The CCC currently has more than ten countries in the region affiliated to its programs.       


The main objective of the CCC is to create a collective of scientific institutions for purposes of consultation, debate and cooperation on region-specific science and technology; so that recommendations that drive scientific and technological development are formulated for politicians at a regional, national or international level.